Meet Your New Council of Stellar Management

Share This Post

Early in the Fanfest stream this EVE morning, CCP Swift and CCP Zelus took to the stage to announce the winners for this year’s Council of Stellar Management, CSM18. If you’re just interested in knowing who was elected, here’s a fun little graphic showing your new CSM and one of our favorite CCP developers. Keep in mind that, for some reason, the winners weren’t posted in order.

Now, for a little bit more about your winners. In the first round, Kazanir and Alcoholic Satan were elected to the council. These two were not surprising winners as they were top on the Goonswam and Pandemic Horde ballots respectively. These two were the only two elected in the first round and, in an actual surprise, no other candidates were elected again until round 30.

In round 30, many candidates dropped off the list you see above, electing Luke Anninan from Fraternity. In rounds 31-33, Angry Mustache (Goonswam), Storm Delay (Pandemic Horde), and Dark Shines (The Initiative) were elected. Unfortunately, it was also at this time that we said goodbye to some of the big hopefuls for CSM18 like Pandoralica.

Seeing someone with a significant amount of votes drop off this list shows you how important filling out your entire ballot is so remember that for next year, especially if your alliance only gives you a ballot with 6 slots filled.

Next up, Mike Azariah (new player focus), The Oz (economy & market focus), Mark Resurrectus (wormholes) and Amelia Duskspace (smallgang, mid-scale) are elected. The surprise here is with candidates like Mike Azariah and The Oz. While both candidates have a particular set of skills that make them useful to CCP, they already have a relationship with them due to their long-term participation in the EVE Online community and don’t really need to be on the CSM to get their job done.

These three round out the elected candidates for CSM18 and, if you recall the graphic above, you’ll see there are two additional candidates. These candidates were chosen by CCP to be on the CSM this year in a first since the council’s inception. The candidates appointed were Kshal Aideron (new player focus) and Stitch Kaneland (coolest character portrait).

To round up the results, 6 out of the 12 candidates are from null-security blocs, with the other 6 coming from a variety of areas of space. With this year’s election having the highest voter turnout in nearly a decade, we were pretty certain we’d get a diverse CSM and it looks like the players have made good on our predictions.

You can watch the rest of the Fanfest presentations live on CCP’s Twitch today and tomorrow. Enjoy!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Redline XIII
Redline XIII
I am a 4-year veteran of EVE Online. Though my exploits are not legendary, I have spent time in several nullsec alliances as a fleet commander and am the self-proclaimed Hero of the North. I am also the editor-in-chief of the New Eden Post, executive producer of our streaming platform, and a host of CrossTalk.

Related Posts

Why “Expert Systems” Won’t Create Expert Players and How to Change It

In a recently published article, CCP introduced their newest...

WWB2: The Story So Far

World War Bee 2 has been rampaging through New...

To Catch an AT Ship – The Work Behind Hunting the Most Elusive Targets

On January 20th 2021, an Utu was ambushed and...
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x